Tags

, , , , , , ,

Since I wrote about food yesterday I might as well start the week with a sweet post on my favorite Granita.  This is from a simple summer recipe I read in a catalogue of a Spinneys shop across the street. For a more fruity mix I upped it a bit with the fruits available in our fridge.

Watermelon Granita:

Blend chunks of watermelon with a little honey and lime juice  (I used lemon juice) until smooth. Place in a dish and freeze for 30 minutes. Flake with a fork to break up any large ice clumps. Return to the freezer and continue the process of flaking every 30 minutes until all liquid is crystallized, for 2-3 hours. Serve in a glass with fresh watermelon cubes and mint.

For this first mix, I opted to use ripe mango cubes topped with the watermelon granita, some pineapple tidbits and drizzled with strawberry sauce.

The second glass I used some lychee pudding with nata de coco and green seedless grapes topped with the watermelon granita and drizzled with strawberry sauce (this is optional as the granita itself is already sweetened with honey).

This granita recipe is very easy to make and great to have on its own but can be used as toppings for any fruit available at hand. You can make many different fruity mixes to enjoy on a very hot day. It is refreshing and helps increase your intake of fruits.

Chill and enjoy! 🙂

